Search Our Site

Vital Statistics

Vital Statistics are birth, death, marriage, and civil union certifications.

**Please note** Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding Vital Records. Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death or marriage certificates. The Logan County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

 

 

Marriage Licenses

Marriages licenses may be obtained from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Office of the County Clerk. The license may be used the following day and expires after 60 days. The couple should be marrying in Logan County. You are no longer required to get a blood test when obtaining your marriage license. You must be at least 18 years of age. If you are under 18, both of your parents must be present when getting your license. It is necessary for both parties to come in to the office to fill out the marriage license application. Civil ceremonies may be conducted for a $10.00 fee. Please contact Judge Workman to make an appointment at 217-732-7013.

Marriage License fees are $50.00.

Any individuals making an application for a marriage license in the County of Logan must provide identification with the name and date of birth of the applicant.

 

Civil Unions

Civil Union is a legal relationship granted by the State of Illinois. Licenses are issued by the County Clerk and are only valid in the county where it was issued. Licenses may be obtained from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Office of the County Clerk. The license may be used the following day and expires after 60 days. You must be at least 18 years of age and present identification such as a driver's license or state id. It is necessary for both parties to come in to the office to fill out the civil union license application. Civil ceremonies may be conducted by a person legally authorized to perform civil unions in Illinois. Civil ceremonies may be conducted for a $10.00 fee. Please contact Judge Workman to make an appointment at 217-732-7013.

Civil Union fees are $50.00.

 

Birth Certificates

To request a copy of a birth certificate, please click here.

Photo ID is required to obtain a birth record (see bottom of page for acceptable ID). 
Birth records begin in our office at the year 1878.

Who may obtain a birth record:

  • The record can be released to the person named on the record, if they are 18 years of age or over.
  • The parent, if their name appears on the Birth Certificate as the mother or father.
  • A Legal Guardian who possesses guardianship papers that are signed by a judge.
  • A Legal Representative who is representing the person named on the Birth Certificate or is representing his/her parents.
  • A court order.

 

Death Certificates

To request a copy of a death certificate, please click here.

Photo ID is required to obtain a death record (see bottom of page for acceptable ID).
Death records begin in our office at the year 1878.

Who may obtain a death record:

  • Applicant must be immediate family (mother, father, brother, sister, spouse, child)
  • Or applicant must be the informant listed on the death record.
  • Applicant must have a personal or property right interest in the record. 
    (Applicant should be prepared to show documentation proving their need for the record and/or intended use and valid identification.)

 

Marriage Certificates

To request a copy of a marriage certificate, please click here.

Marriage certificates date back to 1857.

Who may obtain a marriage record:

  • A certified copy may be obtained by either the bride or the groom.

 

Civil Union Certificates

To request a copy of a civil union certificate, please click here.

Civil Union certificates date back to 2011.

Who may obtain a civil union record:

  • A certified copy may be obtained by either partner of the civil union.

 

Additional Information

Please feel free to contact our Vital Statistics Department at (217) 732-4148 for more information regarding Birth, Death, Marriage, and Civil Union certifications. 
Helpful link for Illinois Vital Statistics: http://www.idph.state.il.us/vitalrecords

 

Acceptable forms of identification are a photocopy of any of the following:

  • Valid Driver's License
  • Valid State Issued ID
  • Valid US Passport
  • Valid Military ID

OR

A photocopy of three of these forms displaying current name and address:

  • Voter Registration Card
  • W-2 Form (most recent)
  • Bank Statement (most recent)
  • Utility bills or other mail with your name & address printed on it (No handwritten envelopes or documents will be accepted)
  • Vehicle Registration Card
  • Checkbook
  • Work identification with photo
logo