Genealogy research for birth, death, and marriage certificate records may be conducted in our office between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. The fee for each search (by mail or in person) is $5.00 and must be accompanied by appropriate form below.
- Birth records begin in our office at the year 1878. Genealogical birth records may be obtained if the record is at least 75 years old.
- Death certificates begin in our office at the year 1878. Genealogical death records must be on file at least 20 years before release.
- Marriage records begin in our office at the year 1857. Genealogical copies may be obtained if the record is at least 50 years old.
A genealogy search may be made by individuals in our office in accordance with Illinois State Statute, and at no time may the searcher handle the original documents. No searching or assistance with searches will be available on election days in Illinois. Please see the Election Information menu item for dates of upcoming elections.
Please feel free to contact our Vital Statistics and Genealogy Department in the Office of the County Clerk at (217)732-4148 for more information regarding Birth, Marriage, or Death Certificates. If you would like to send an email regarding your genealogy request, you may do so at: firstname.lastname@example.org . Our office response time is, typically, within 3-5 business days.
To request a copy of a birth, death or marriage certificate, please download and fill out the following forms: