Our County

COVID-19 Information

Information related to COVID-19 affecting Logan County IL.

ios7 information outline Current Statistics 

Logan County Department of Public Health

If you think you have been exposed to COVID‑19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.


Search Our Site

Logan County contains many unique and historical communities.  



Towards the north is the small community of Atlanta, Illinois.  Just off Interstate 55 and also on historic Route 66.

Atlanta City Hall  ​8:30 PM-12 PM, 1 PM-4:30 PM,  Monday-Friday
(217) 648-2351


Beason was established on July 29, 1872 by Silas Beason, for whom the town is named. It was founded as a stop on the Havana, Lincoln, and Eastern Railroad, which is now a branch of the Illinois Central Railroad. The first store in Beason was a grocery opened by Berryman H. Pendleton, who later became Beason's first postmaster.


The Village of Broadwell was platted in 1856 by William Broadwell and Jacob Eisiminger, which occurred in conjunction with the construction of the railroad linking Chicago and Springfield.


Burtonview was originally called Burton, and under the latter name had its start when the Champaign, Lincoln and Eastern Railroad was extended to that point. A post office called Burton View was established in 1873, and remained in operation until 1918.


The community is located northwest across the railroad tracks along Illinois Route 54 at Dauphin Street. Its claim to fame, for the sake of town promotion, is that it is the geographic center of the state. A small monument to this effect has been erected in a park near the southwest corner of Melvin Street and East Olive street (in §34 T19N R1W). However, the exact center of Illinois is about eight miles southwest of Chestnut, and on the other side of the town of Mount Pulaski, at 89°18.4'W 40°0.8'N.


Cornland was laid out and platted in 1871 when the Gilman, Clinton & Springfield Railroad was extended to that point.  A post office called Cornland has been in operation since 1872.


In some respects the history of Elkhart dates from the first settlement of James Latham at Elkhart Grove (Elk Heart) in the spring of 1819. For many years Elkhart was one of the largest shipping points on the C&A Railroad. This was due in part to the large stock farms of John D. Gillett. The town was incorporated Feb. 22, 1861 by special legislative charter.

Elkhart Village Hall  209 Governor Oglesby St
(217) 947-2287


The village was named after Emden,Germany due to the large number of residents who immigrated to the area from villages along the River Ems.


Hartsburg was laid out by David H. Harts, of Lincoln, for whom the town was named in 1871. It was surveyed on June 22 of that year by Thomas G. Gardner, the Peoria. Lincoln and Decatur, now the Peoria and Evansville branch of the Illinois Central railroad, having been completed to that locality about that time.


Latham was platted in 1871, and named in honor of Robert B. Latham, a railroad official.  A post office called Latham has been in operation since 1872.


Lawndale was laid out and platted in 1854, soon after the Alton & Sangamon (now Chicago & Alton) railroad was extended to that point.  A post office called Lawndale has been in operation since 1855.



At the heart of our county is the history Lincoln, Illinois.  Lincoln was named for and christened by Abraham Lincoln before he was President. Lincoln is the county seat and is just off Interstate 55 and Old Route 66 cuts through it.

Lincoln City Hall - 9 AM to 5 PM, Monday - Friday

(217) 735-2815


Middletown, founded in 1832, is the oldest town in Logan County. At one time, Middletown was considered as a location for the capital of Illinois. Middletown was a frequent overnight stop for legislators traveling between Springfield and Peoria in the mid-to-late 19th century. The Stage Coach Inn, located off the town square, is the oldest such wooden structure in Illinois. It is believed that Abraham Lincoln stayed at the Inn. Unfortunately, official records were destroyed in a fire many years ago.  The town does have at least one official and verified link to Abe Lincoln as he surveyed the site which would become the town during his early days surveying in Logan County.


Mount Pulaski
In 1836, Mount Pulaski was founded by Jabez Capps, George Turley and Dr. Barton Robinson.  It  was named afterAmerican General Casimir Pulaski, a Polish soldier of fortune, who gave his life in our Revolutionary War.

Mt. Pulaski City Hall - 8 AM to 4 PM, Monday - Friday

(217) 792-3222


New Holland

The town of New Holland was laid out by Oliver Holland, for whom it was named, in 1875. It was surveyed by Thomas G. Gardner, county surveyor, on April 6th of that year.


San Jose

San Jose is located on the eastern most boundary of Mason County, the western most boundary of Logan County and one mile south of Tazewell County situated in the heart of Illinois. 

San Jose Village Hall - 8 AM - Noon,  Monday - Friday

(309) 247-3332